“Walking with a friend in the dark is better than walking alone in the light”-Helen Keller

I have grown apart from many friends over the past few years, however they are still very important to me. Some of these people include Courtney, Annette, Britney, Halee, Laney, Paige and Tori. They are all still very good friends of mine, but we aren’t as close as we used to be. Britney, Halee, Laney, Paige and I used to all be really good friends. When I switched schools in grade 9 we didn’t try as hard as we could have, to keep in contact. Courtney and Annette are friends I still talk to, but it isn’t the same. The more we got to know each other the more we realized how little we had in common. I think it is is really neat though how I can still hang out with these people and have a really good time, even if we don’t talk as often.

images-3

Tori and I chat quite a bit still and we always offer one and other advice. The main reason why I think friends grow apart is because we grow as people, and as we grow we tend to lean in different directions. Say we use the analogy of a tree. We all come from the same seed, but as the tree grows the branches grow apart. As the branches grow apart the distance from one end of the tree to another becomes greater, more branches are formed, but all the branches remain connected to the trunk.

Tree-of-Life   friends-girl-separate-with-comma-Favim.com-221515

Friends will grow, and as we grow we grow apart. We will also get to know more people and make new friends. However we friends still always share the some awesome memories. The friends I have grown apart from are people I do not spend time with as often as I used to, but I have also made many new friends. Another main reason why I think friends grow apart is because of a certain event, or argument. I definitely have friends who have lost  their other friends due to an argument. It is important to keep in mind that everything happens for a reason. I don’t regret growing apart from these people, but I would still jump at the opportunity to rebuild our friendships.

friends-fingers

2755306945_024d00205b

Sometimes we have a false idea of who are friends are and who are friends aren’t. It sometimes takes a few eye openers to find out which friends are  your real friends. Oprah Winfrey is quoted saying, “Lots of people want to ride with you in the limo, but what you want is someone who will take the bus with you when the limo breaks down.” It is sometimes hard to figure out who you trust. I know I am definitely really slow at letting people close to me. Trust is one of the most fragile things in a persons life. I feel it is hard to build trust, but so easy to break it, almost like a paper thin piece of glass.

Broken-Friendship-Quotes

I know none of my friendships have been perfect, but I still value friendship with high regards. I think friendship is a key component to life the same way oxygen is a key component to air. So I will finish this blog entry with a quote for you to consider, from Buddha. He said “An insincere and evil friend is more to be feared than a wild beast; a wild beast may wound your body, but a evil friend will wound your mind.”

Leave a Reply

