“The time to relax is the time when you don’t have time for it”- Sydney Jay Harris

Stress is a part of a person’s daily life. Sometimes it is the small things in life that stress us out most. “Am I going to be late again?” “what if..?” “oh no! I forgot…” These are thoughts that go through our heads each day. Somethings in life are things we do not have control over, so why should we spend our time worrying about these things when we could do other things that are much more productive and rewarding? As Charlie Chaplin, a British film actor once said, “Nothing is permanent in this wicked world- not even our troubles.” 

It is often a good idea to spend some time relaxing each day, even if it is only for a few minutes. Some things I like to do to relax include:

Exercise: Running, Pilates

ImageImage

 

I enjoy running because it is a good form of cardiovascular exercise, it feels very rewarding after, and it allows for you to think, reflect, and consider with out the distractions of every day life. I enjoy pilates because you feel great afterwards, and it is a good way to get in shape 🙂

Music: listen and play

Image

 

I love to listen to music, especially when I try to fall asleep. Listening provides a sense of freedom to many people, and allows us to manipulate our mood. I also enjoy playing music, it is a great way to learn, and improve a skill. I find it very rewarding. Often when you put a lot of practice into a skill you are passionate about you get wonderful results.

Projects: start something new

ImageImage

 

I love starting new projects when I try to relax. Some of my favourite things to do include: baking, painting and drawing. I enjoy all of these activities because they are productive. Baking to me is a simple way of creating, and when you are done creating you have something you can share with others. For example: a cake. By mixing a few simple ingredients (flour, eggs, sugar, and milk) we can create a cake. When the cake is done we can decorate it. When the cake has been decorated it is a work of art that can be shared, and other people can enjoy it. I love doing art as well. I feel that with art it’s impossible to mess up. You don not always get the desired result but there is truly no wrong expression, or wrong representation of something through art. It is up to the artist to create.

Being unproductive: browsing the internet, sleeping

ImageImage

In contrast to being productive, I also like to be highly unproductive. I think that is one of the greatest forms of relaxation: doing nothing. I can waste hours on a computer browsing the internet. I also love to sleep. There is a place between sleeping and being awake. It’s that time when you are not quite fully aware of your surroundings and you are drifting in and out of dreams. It is that time when it is hardest to wake up. It’s the time when your mind is saying you must get up and have a productive day, but your body feels so tired and wants you to stay in bed. I love that feeling. I could lay in bed all day, however I can’t because I have things to do, however every now and then I enjoy taking a nap. A nap is a chance to recharge. 

I think relaxing is a very important part of someones life. I try to get exercise every day and I always have some form of music in my daily routine. Starting projects is usually something I do in my spare time during the weekend, but not during the week due to a busy schedule. As far as being unproductive, I don’t schedule times, but at least once in a day I spend 10-15 minutes doing nothing and not worrying about the small things.

Everyone has their own form of relaxation, and everyone has their own recommendations on how to relax. My recommendation is to find something you get pure enjoyment out of, and find time to do it every day. 

Image

Leave a Reply

