“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new”- Albert Einstein

Image

 

I’ve made a lot of mistakes over the past year. They have been big and small. I make tons of mistakes, but I think the most important thing is to learn from these mistakes. It sounds like a cliché, but I think its true. I’ve been really lucky throughout my life and I haven’t made any choices that have dramatically jeopardized my happiness and health. Some of the small mistakes I make almost everyday include:

  • sleeping in too long
  • bumping into things
  • saying the wrong things at the wrong time
  • forgetting to do my homework
  • spelling things incorrectly (ALL THE TIME)
  • Going to bed to late
  • burning my toast 😦
  • spilling my drinks

Image

 

I can’t think of a mistake in particular that I would like to change, but in general I would like to change how I react to my mistakes. I think my biggest mistake when dealing with my mistakes is dwelling on what I did wrong. Sometimes we focus too much on what we did wrong instead of seeing what can come from our mistakes. One of my favourite stories is how sticky notes were made.

Image

Spencer Silver a chemist made some glue but the glue wasn’t very adhesive. Years later Spencer’s friend used the glue to stick paper markers in his hymn book. The paper stuck to the books pages easily, but didn’t damage the pages when the paper was pulled off. This is when the sticky note was born!  Spencer’s glue was definitely a mistake at  the time, but it turned out to be an invention we use everyday.

This is is one of my favourite quotes:

Image

 

If you didn’t make any mistakes yesterday would you be in the same place you are today? How can you learn if you never make mistakes? How can we grow if we can’t learn from our mistakes? Humanity has made many mistakes but how different would the world be today if these mistakes hadn’t been made?

 

Image

 

Maybe if we redefine “mistake” we wont make mistakes so often. I try to think of a mistake as more of a learning experience, but I must admit sometimes my mistakes bother me. 

I’ll conclude the blog with this quote from Elbert Hubbard. This quote really speaks to me.“The greatest mistake you can make in life is to be continually fearing you will make one.” -Elbert Hubbard 

 

 

Leave a Reply

